UTAH STATE BAR COMMISSION MEETING

MINUTES

Friday, September 22, 2023 Snowpine Lodge – Alta, Utah

In Attendance: President Erik Christiansen, and Commissioners J. Brett Chambers, Matt Hansen, Greg Hoole, Mark Morris, Chrystal Mancuso-Smith, Kim Cordova, Traci Gunderson, Cara Tangaro, Tyler Young, Rick Hoffman, Shawn Newell, and John Rees.

Ex-Officio Members: Anaya Gayle, Kristin Woods, Lauren Shurman, Margaret Plane

Not in Attendance: Commissioner Tom Bayles, and Ex-Officio members Ashley Beihl, Camila Moreno, Katie Lawyer, Tony Graf, Nathan Adler, Dean Elizabeth Warner, and Dean David Moore.

Also in Attendance: Executive Director Elizabeth A. Wright, Assistant Executive Director Brooke Muir, General Counsel Maribeth LeHoux, Utah Court Representative Nick Stiles, Scotti Hill for the Young Lawyers Division, and Chris Newbold from ALPS

1. President's Welcome and Reports

1.1 Admissions Ceremony

Mr. Christensen reminded the Commission that the Admissions Ceremony will be held at noon on October 27 at the Salt Palace.

1.2 Lawyer-Legislator Breakfast

Mr. Christensen informed the Commission that the Lawyer-Legislative breakfast at the State Capitol will be on November 15 at 7:30 am and encouraged attendance.

1.3 Judicial Council Report: Margaret Plane

Ms. Plane provided a report on the Judicial Council, including a discussion on judicial compensation.

2. Action Items

2.1 Approve Purchase of a Table at UMBA Scholarship and Awards Banquet

Mr. Christiansen discussed the UMBA Scholarship and Awards Banquet, and reported the Commission usually purchases a table for the event for \$1,000.

Ms. Mancuso-Smith moved to approve the proposal and Mr. Hoffman seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

2.2 Oral History Videos

Mr. Christiansen told the Commission that following the last meeting, he had received a written request for funding from Bruce Baird in order to record and produce lawyer oral

history videos. The Commission discussed the request and Mr. Christensen stated he would write Mr. Baird a letter regarding the matter.

2.3 Approve Fall Forum Award Recipients

Ms. Woods presented the Fall Forum Award nominations. The Commission discussed the nominees and various awards.

Ms. Tangaro moved to award the Professionalism Award to Hon. George Harmon. Ms. Cardova seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. Cordova moved to award the Mentoring Awards as follows: James Lee Award to Hon. Augustus Chin; Paul Moxley Award to Philip Lear, and the Charlotte Miller Award to Rebecca Ryon. Mr. Newell seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. Tangaro moved to award the Community Member Award to Kaitlyn Piper and Mr. Hansen seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. Cordova moved to award Heather Tanana the Award for Special/Distinguished Service and Ms. Tangara seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

3. Adjournment.

The Commission adjourned at 1 p.m.